Congressman Cuellar weighs in on busing migrants from Laredo

Published: Sep. 21, 2022 at 5:06 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LAREDO, TX. (KGNS) - Webb County Republican Chair Luis de la Garza says people are starting to see what we have to deal with.

Buses have been transporting migrants from border cities to sanctuary cites like Chicago, New York City and most recently Martha’s Vineyard. Laredo has been the starting point for many of these buses.

Congressman Henry Cuellar says they are sending out roughly 21 to 26 buses a day from Laredo.

“A lot of people don’t know what’s happening, but Laredo is now becoming a processing center because we don’t get the numbers that others places, but they’ll send them from Eagle Pass, the Del Rio area, the Valley, and then we send them off to different parts of the country, said Cuellar.

U.S. Congressman Henry Cuellar says he hopes this initiative provides his colleagues around the U.S. with a better understanding of what cities along the border deal with on a daily basis.

“I think some of those people in those cities are finally understanding what some of us have felt on the border”, said Cuellar.

The congressman hopes this will motivate his colleagues to support his initiatives to secure the border.

He adds the current administration does not understand the current immigration situation at the border which sees from six thousand to eight people crossing the border daily.

As for the Republican counterpart, some have been vocal about supporting the initiative.

“I think it’s fantastic. People need to understand that border cities, especially in South Texas, don’t want to continue to take the burden of illegals coming into our country”, said De la Garza.

Two different reasons why they support the shipping of immigrants but nonetheless, they both agree there is no sight in it slowing down.

Cuellar says that the 21 to 26 buses coming out of Laredo daily are from only 1 of the 9 Border Patrol stations in the Laredo Sector.

For more headlines. click here.